Stanford Graduate School of Business

Stanford Graduate School of Business
Stanford University
Knight Management Center/McClelland Building,
655 Knight Wa
>y Stanford
CA 94305-7298

Website :  

2017 Business Week Ranking: Full-time MBA: 5th
2017 Forbes Ranking: Full-time, 2-year MBA: 2nd
2017 Economist Ranking: Full-time MBA: 5th
2018 Financial Times Ranking: Full-time MBA: 1st
Dean : Jonathan Levin


Stanford Graduate School of Business holds the AACSB accreditation.

Rate and review Stanford Graduate School of Business

Are you a student or an alumnus/alumna? Help MBA aspirants choose their programs!

Stanford MBA

2-year, full-time program
Admission Requirements
  • A U.S. bachelor’s degree or equivalent
Application Checklist
  • GPA
  • English proficiency: TOEFL, IELTS or PTE
  • Transcripts from all educational institutions attended
  • GMAT or GRE
  • One-page resume
  • Two essays
  • Two letters of reference
  • Interviews


Dual program
A joint degree program with Stanford Law School (SLS)
Duration4 years

MA Education/MBA

Dual program
A joint degree program with Stanford Graduate School of Education
Duration2 years


Dual program
A joint degree program with the School of Humanities and Sciences
Duration3 years

MBA/MS in Computer Science

Dual program
A joint degree program in conjunction with the Computer Science department.
Credits129 (84 MBA units and 45 MS in Computer Science units)
Duration3 years

MS Environment & Resources/MBA

Dual program
A joint degree program offered in partnership with the Stanford School of Earth, Energy and Environmental Sciences
Duration3 years (7 to 9 quarters)


Dual program
Dual degree program offered in conjunction with the Stanford School of Medicine
Duration5 years

MBA/MS in Electrical Engineering

Dual program
A joint degree program offered in partnership with the Electrical Engineering Department.
Duration3 years

Notable MBA Alumni

  • John Morgridge , '57: former CEO of Cisco Systems
  • William Collins, '59: former Connecticut State Representative and former Mayor of Norwalk, Connecticut
  • Oliver Williamson, '60: Nobel Prize winner in economics in 2009
  • Charles R. Schwab, '61: founder, chairman, and CEO of Charles Schwab Corporation
  • Phil Knight, '62: President & CEO of Nike
  • Ed Zschau, '63: Former Member of the U.S. House of Representatives from California's 12th district
  • Jim Kolbe, '67: Former member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Arizona's 5th district
  • Dick Kovacevich, '67: former CEO of Wells Fargo
  • Steven Wheelwright, '69: former President of Brigham Young University–Hawaii (BYU-Hawaii)
  • Richard Fisher, '75: former President and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  • Dana Gioia, '77: former VP at General Foods, poet, former Chairman of the federal arts agency the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA)
  • Jeffrey Bewkes, '77: Time Warner President and COO
  • Becky Morgan, '78: former California State Senator
  • Steve Poizner, '80: former elected Republican California Insurance Commissioner
  • Steve Ballmer, '81: dropped out in 1979: former CEO of Microsoft
  • Ann Livermore, '82: former Executive Vice President at HP
  • Gary A. Grappo, '82: former U.S. Ambassador to Oman
  • Steve Westly, '83: State Controller and Chief Financial Officer of California
  • Penny Pritzker, '84: former U.S. Secretary of Commerce
  • Stan Polovets, '89: Energy executive and philanthropist
  • Alan Tripp, '89: founder of SCORE! Educational Centers and InsideTrack
  • Omid Kordestani, '91: Executive Chairman at Twitter, former EVP of Google
  • Hidehiko Yuzaki, '95: Governor of Hiroshima Prefecture
  • Sri Srinivasan, '95: Judge of the DC Circuit Court of Appeals
  • Jeffrey Skoll, '95: first president of eBay, founder of Participant Media
  • Fred Swaniker, 2004: Ghanaian serial entrepreneur and leadership development expert, chairman and founder of the African Leadership Academy
  • Antonio Buehler, 2006: activist known for his work on police accountability and his defense of the constitutional right to photograph, film and document the police
  • Jared Weinstein, 2011: former Special Assistant and Personal Aide to U.S. President George W. Bush
  • Anthony Mosse, former New Zealand swimmer, Olympic bronze medalist in 1988
  • Scott McNealy: co-founder, Chairman, and former CEO of Sun Microsystems
  • Steve Smith: Astronaut
  • John Arrillaga: Silicon Valley real estate developer
  • Burton A. Dole, Jr.: President, CEO, and Chairman of Puritan Bennett
  • Richard Fairbank: co-founder, Chairman, and CEO of Capital One
  • Henry McKinnell: former Chairman and former CEO of Pfizer
  • Mukesh Ambani (MBA candidate, dropped out): Reliance Industries Limited Chairman
  • Dean Bosacki: co-founder of Manhattan Partners, board member of Academi
  • Kfir Gavrieli: founder and CEO of Tieks
  • Trip Hawkins: founder of Electronic Arts, 3DO and Digital Chocolate
  • Vinod Khosla: Sun Microsystems co-founder
  • Jyotiraditya Madhavrao Scindia: former Indian Minister of Power and former Indian Minister of State for Commerce and Industry

Related Articles